Do Not Be Conformed

Romans 12:2—And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

      This is the second devotional that has referenced Romans 12:2. I guess God thinks this verse is very important. We have already discussed the aspect of renewing the mind. While that is infinitely important, I want to go a different direction now. What I really want to hone in on is the difference between being conformed and being transformed.

      To be transformed is to be completely changed, through and through. It is to change in form, appearance, or structure. To transform means to go from being one thing to being something entirely different. It is a total metamorphosis, a re-genesis, if you will. To be conformed is to become compliant to the standards, attitudes, practices, etc., of a group or society. To conform is to become similar in form or nature, but not to be changed completely. To conform is to be something one is not; to compromise oneself.

      We were originally created in the image and likeness of God. That was His vision. Sin has caused us to lose ourselves. What I mean is that the sin curse we are born with has changed our form a bit, so that we are no longer the same image that God envisioned. That is why, in the midst of our sin, God can’t look upon us. We are tainted. We are less than we were made to be. We have been conformed to the world’s standards. We are broken vessels. 

      Luckily, Jesus is a master potter. He takes the broken clay of our lives and re-shapes it, re-forms it to an image that God can then call beautiful. When we allow ourselves to be transformed, we are really giving God permission to make us who we were supposed to be in the first place. It may be a painstaking process, but the end result is a work of art.

      When we let God transform us, you and I go from being everyday screw-ups to masterpieces.

Prayer for Today:

Jesus,

      I know that I am broken pot. I know that I am not quite who You designed me to be. Take this marred, jaded, imperfect clay and re-shape it. I no longer want to conform myself to this world’s perception of what I should be. Help me to be strong enough to let You do the work it takes to change me.

Amen

Daily Objective:

Don’t let worldly influences infiltrate your life; this causes conformity. Cut out them out.

Leave a Reply

