Footsteps Ordered

Psalm 37:23—The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, and He delights in his way.

      Wouldn’t it be cool to know that every single step we take through life has already been plotted out for us? Read above. They all are. God has an amazing, world-changing plan in place for every one of His children. He literally has traced out every step we should take along the path of life; each one has been carefully thought out and, one right after the other, they lead to a destiny greater than our wildest dreams could conjure.

      Notice that I wrote that God has traced out every step that we should take. Hmm. That suggests that we have a part to play in all this. So, does this mean that I am not a robot? Am I not a mindless pawn in some heavenly chess game? Obviously, that is nonsense. God has given us all the divine gift of free will. The problem is that when Adam sinned, he forever doomed mankind to be born with a sin curse. That sin curse has tainted our perception, causing the free will that was meant as a blessing to be suspect.

      In other words, we are born dirty and need redemption. As a result, our thinking stinks and we exercise our will to stray from the intended path of God. We are gluttons for punishment. We cause ourselves so much pain along the way by our arrant choices. The thing is that, when we get it right, God goes crazy in celebration. Look at the end of the verse. “…and He delights in his way.” When we actually follow the plans He has for us, he gets great pleasure because He can then unleash blessings on us.

      Even everyday screw-ups like you and I can partake in abundant blessing if we exercise our free will to follow God’s plan.

Prayer for Today:

Jesus,

      I thank You that You have a plan for me. I thank You that the plan is to prosper me and give me a hope and a future. Help me to walk in Your plan. Help me to walk in the footsteps You have ordered for me. Help me to get out of my own way.

Amen

Daily Objective:

Be still and know that He is God. Understand He has a plan for you that is greater than anything you could have thought up for yourself.

Leave a Reply

