Draw Nigh

James 4:8a—Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.

      When the going gets tough, the tough get going. That sounds inspirational. In all actuality, that statement explains humanity perfectly, but not in the way it should. We, as people, walk away. When the going gets tough, we bail. It’s who we are. We don’t like confrontation, conflict, or pressure. When we feel the heat, we get out of the kitchen. That’s the same way we handle God. When things don’t go the way we planned, when life gets hard, when tragedy comes, we blame it on God and walk away.

      The truth is that we have it backward. In the Kingdom of Heaven, to get you must give. To be exalted, you must be a servant. You see, the Kingdom mentality says that when the heat is on, we have to hang in there, not run. Do you remember what you read many days ago? His strength is made perfect in weakness. That defies conventional wisdom, right? So it is with Kingdom dynamics.

      I said all that to say this: when the going gets tough, we should get going…directly into the arms of Jesus. Man’s wisdom says run for the hills. But, when we stick it out, God promises to be right there with us. Take heart and take comfort in knowing that God hasn’t left us. He is still standing where He always was, waiting patiently for our return. When He sees us coming in the distance, He runs to meet us, throwing His loving arms around us in a deep embrace. Friends, we are only alone when we choose to be. Draw near to your savior. He is waiting for you. He is the lover of your soul.

      Even everyday screw-ups like you and I can find love divine if we draw near to the giver of life.

Prayer for today:

Jesus,

      I am prone to run. When the ride gets bumpy, I tend to get off. I thank You that You have never left me, even when I walked away from You. Help me to hang in there. Help me to draw closer to You, especially in my time of need. I thank You for Your sheltering arms wrapped around me. I thank You for drawing near to me.

Amen

Daily Objective:

Take off your running shoes. Plant your feet and let the enemy know you’re not running away anymore.

One thought on “Draw Nigh

Leave a Reply

