Approach the Throne

Hebrews 4:16—Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

      Let’s say, as a child, you wanted a new bike. Do you remember how you approached the subject with your parents? Most children would tread lightly, beating around the bush timidly before finally making the request known. I think children often fear a rebuke from parents in these situations, hence the fearfulness. It’s a shame, because I bet that parents would typically welcome their kids with open arms.

      Many times, we approach God, our Heavenly Father, this way; we come shyly into His presence, especially when the need is one of forgiveness. The thing we tend to forget is that God is not a wrathful force waiting to strike down with great vengeance and furious anger upon those who disobey Him. God will not zap you with a cosmic lightning bolt when you fail. He is a God of mercy, compassion, love, and grace. God wants to forgive. He longs to pick you up, brush you off, and get you back on your feet and down the straight and narrow path, like any good parent would.

      When we come to God for help, we are admitting that we don’t have it all figured out, that we are fallible, and that we can’t get it right on our own. That is when God can actually be God to us. “Boldness” is not entitlement, as if He owes us anything. Boldness in this sense means that we run to His throne seeking forgiveness, comfort, assistance, divine intervention, etc., but we do it without reservation because we know that God wants to help His kids. In our darkest hour, God is ready to come through for us. We should let Him without worrying about what He’ll say.

      Even everyday screw-ups like you and I can obtain mercy when we approach God’s throne of grace with boldness!

Prayer for Today:

Jesus,

      I know that I make mistakes on a daily basis. I know I need forgiveness and grace. Help me to approach You unafraid. Help me to remember that I need Your help. Help me have the boldness to admit my failures. I thank You for granting me grace and mercy.

Amen

Daily Objective:

Think of God as a loving Father, because that’s what He is. Don’t be afraid to hand Him your messes.

Leave a comment