Cast Your Cares

I Peter 5:7—Casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

      We tend to hold onto much more than we should. We burden ourselves down with the weight of the world. In other words, we care too much! I don’t mean to say that it is wrong to care. Caring is a tremendous gift, if used properly. I mean that we allow ourselves to care in a negative way; as in, we worry. Worry will kill you, period.

      God does not want us to worry—not about bills, kids, marriage, finances, or anything else for that matter. In fact, Jesus says in Matthew 6:25, “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?” Jesus is saying that there is more to life than worrying about everything from the trivial to the gargantuan (to us). By the way, it’s all trivial in God’s mind.

      We are on a mission from God (gratuitous movie quote). That is what is important in life. We have bigger fish to fry. We must stop living life wondering how things will turn out. Stop the worrying. Stop the dwelling. Stop the fretting. Stop the stressing. Stop the anxiety. Stop the madness! Jesus says that we should cast the cares of this life on Him.

      After all, we are children of the King of kings. He is on the hook for our lives and the provision for them. And, guess what? He won’t let us down. He can’t. You see, God is incapable of failure. Besides, He wouldn’t leave us hanging if He could. He’s too good a Father for that.

      So, if we cast our worries, doubts, and fears on Him, even everyday screw-ups like you and I will sit back and watch God take care of it all.

Prayer for Today:

Jesus,

      I worry. Sometimes, I worry a lot. You have told me to cast my cares upon You. Help me to give them over. Help me to understand that You are in control. I thank You that You will never leave me hanging. I thank You that You care enough for me to take care of everything.

Amen

Daily Objective:

Think of all the things you normally worry about. Write them down. Now, burn the list and let God do the “worrying” for you.

Leave a Reply

