Victorious

I Corinthians 15:57—But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

      That verse seems to be pretty all-inclusive. God gives us victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. We tend to think of victory in terms of wins and losses. I think this Scripture is talking about much more than a win. I think Paul was talking about a lifestyle of victory. I think Paul was saying that, in Christ, we have the ability to withstand all of the best laid plans of the enemy. If that is the case, then it begs the question: victory over what?

      How about victory over sin and death, for starters? That victory was won the moment we asked Jesus to be Lord of our lives. How about victory over sickness and disease? Jesus took care of that when he bore stripes on the way to Calvary (see Isaiah 53:5). How about victory over fear? Isaiah 41:10—“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” That one is covered, too.

      Jesus going to the cross did more than save us. It did more than cleanse us from unrighteousness. It allowed us to experience freedom and true victory from all the powers of darkness. Jesus gave us a victory that we could have never won on our own, but that we are free to walk in. Through the sacrifice of Christ, we are no longer subject to the devil’s attacks. We now have been given a source of divine strength that Satan cannot match. As long as we abide in Him, we cannot fall. It’s like playing with a stacked deck or fishing with dynamite. The devil doesn’t stand a chance!

      If we live our lives for Christ, we’ll find that even everyday screw-ups like you and I can walk in victory!

Prayer for Today:

Jesus,

      I thank You for victory. I thank You that I am no longer forced to walk in defeat. I thank You that my days of being powerless are over. Help me to be strong in the power of Your might. Help me to continue the lifestyle of victory that You have elevated me to.

Amen

Daily Objective:

Walk tall. Stand strong. Know that you are fighting a winning battle. Keep your eyes on the prize and let the Lord lead the troops.

Leave a Reply

