Righteousness of Christ

II Corinthians 5:21—For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

      When we were sinners, we were dirty; even Mama’s Ajax couldn’t wash us clean. We were like garbage in a landfill. We were so disgusting, we couldn’t even commune with God. On our best day as sinners, God could not stomach us. As a matter of fact, the Bible says that our righteousness is as filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6).

      Enter Jesus. His sacrifice on the cross gave us access to righteousness. When we accepted Christ as savior and were washed in His blood, the filth of sin vanished. The crimson blood of Jesus made our once black hearts as white as snow.

      Jesus’ blood cleaned us so completely that when God looks at us, He only sees righteousness. Even when we fail Him now, He still sees righteousness. How? You see, Jesus lived a sinless life here on earth. Therefore, He was the model of perfect righteousness. He had no filthy places. That qualified Him to be a spotless sacrifice. The moment His blood touched our lives, it blotted out any evidence of sin—all sin is covered. Now, God can not only look upon us, not only commune with us, but He is able to share an intimate relationship with us.

      In other words, we are not only God’s children through the blood of Jesus, but we are His friends. Trust me when I tell you that you want God as a friend, because He “sticks closer than a brother” (Proverbs 18:24).

      Even everyday screw-ups like you and I can be friends of God because of the righteousness of our big brother, Jesus.

Prayer for Today:

Jesus,

      I thank You that I am forgiven. I thank You that Your blood has washed me clean. I thank You that all of my sins are covered by that precious blood so that I can be the righteousness of Christ. I thank You for being a perfect sacrifice. I thank You that, because of what You did for me, God sees me as His friend.

Amen

Daily Objective:

You are the righteousness of Christ. Don’t forget it and don’t let the enemy tell you any different. Commit today to think, talk, and act like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

