More Than Conquerers

Romans 8:35-37—Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written: “For Your sake we are killed all day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.” Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.

      Doesn’t that statement make you want to leap for joy?! We are more than conquerors! But, wait. What does that mean, exactly? Well, let’s break the Scripture down a bit.

      First, what is a conqueror? One who conquers. Okay, what does it mean to conquer? According to the dictionary, it means “to acquire by force of arms; win in war; to overcome by force; subdue; to gain, win, or obtain by effort, personal appeal, etc.; to gain a victory over; surmount; master; overcome.” Wow. So, to conquer essentially means to gain victory over something in a big way. So, if we are more than conquerors, we have absolutely obliterated something. Well, what’s the “something?”

      The “something” is located in Romans 8:35. Specifically, we have mastered tribulation, distress, persecution, famine, nakedness, peril, and sword. That’s quite a laundry list of things we are victorious over, right? Well, don’t go tooting your own horn so quickly. Remember the last five words of the passage: “through Him who loved us.” Now, give God a big round of applause.

      We have victory over everything the enemy has thrown at us because of the God Who saved (and continues to save) us from it. But, you know what? I am okay with that. If it weren’t for God, I’d be in a ditch or in jail, I’m sure of it. So, I have no problem letting Him get the credit for a victory He won in the first place.

      I am forever grateful that even everyday screw-ups like you and I can have victory through the power of God.

Prayer for Today:

Jesus,

      I thank You that You have given me victory of the enemy. I thank You that, even in my human frailty, You have made it possible for me to win. I am more than a conqueror through Your love. Help me to remember that You are stronger than the devil and, with You, I’ll always win.

Amen

Daily Objective:

Hold your head high. Understand that God has given you victory!

Leave a Reply

