New Creation

II Corinthians 5:17—If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

      Isn’t a comforting thought to know that, at the moment of salvation, we are brand new creations? The dirt and filth that marked our lives before has been swept away and we are as clean as the day we were born. From that moment on, every time God looks at us, He only sees the blood of Jesus. He no longer sees the murky, cloudy shroud of sin. We are forgiven and made new. That is why salvation is referred to as being “born again.” It is a spiritual rebirth.

      What does it mean to be made new? Is it a literal “I have a totally new body” experience? No. But, it is a “God has saved my soul” experience, one that allows you to see the world through redeemed eyes. Redemption has a way of changing people. Being made new also means that we are given new minds. Again, this is not to say that God performs a brain transplant. It is to say that He transforms our minds from that of unrighteousness, carnality, and defeat to that of righteousness, selflessness, and victory.

      Instead of being slaves to this world and its selfish lusts, we are now bondservants to the Most High God. We gladly serve Him in a way that allows more freedom than the bondage of sin ever could. We are no longer bound by the chains of sin.

      That’s right. Even everyday screw-ups like you and I have been set free and now have authority over the very enemy that bound us in the first place. Praise God!

Prayer for Today:

Jesus,

      I thank You for taking my messed-up life and giving me a fresh start. I thank You for giving me a new mind and a new outlook on life. I thank You that I am a new creation. Help me to think like You. Help me to talk like You. Help me to act like You. Help me to love like You. Help me to live my new life the way You lived Yours when You were on this earth. Help me to be less like me and more like You.

Amen

Daily Objective:

You are a new creation. Act like it. Commit today to be a brand new you.

Leave a Reply

